Cary Golf Classic

Family Health Care, Oncology, Orthopedics, OB Health Services: Caribou, ME

Four Hole Playoff Gives Sappier First Win at Cary Classic

July 10, 2017

It took a four hole playoff and a couple of thunder storm delays but in the end, Sheldon Sappier capitalized on a missed putt by former tournament champion Phil Pelletier on Sunday afternoon and took his first win at the Katahdin Trust sponsored Cary Classic Benefit Golf Tournament. Both golfers finished regular play with scores of 74 over the eighteen holes and it came down to some pressure golf as a crowd of onlookers watched from the deck of the Caribou Country Club. On the third hole of the playoff Sappier had to make a ten foot putt to stay even with Pelletier who had a tap in. The two men had powerful drives on the fourth playoff hole and both chipped their second shots up on the green. Pelletier had a six foot putt and just rolled the ball off the cup, Sappier sunk his four foot putt for a birdie and the win.

Overall Women’s Winner – Emily Jose; Overall Men’s Winner – Sheldon Sappier

The tournament had its largest field in years with the change in format going from two-days to a one day event. The Cary Classic is organized by the Jefferson Cary Foundation and is in its 34th year. Mary Harrigan, Executive Director of the foundation said that she was pleased with the response of golfers and that she had some positive comments.

“We think the change to a one day tournament has a number of positive considerations”, said Harrigan who chairs the tournament planning committee. “A two day commitment during our short summer season is hard on families and by going to a one-day event we were able to schedule a rain date which worked out very well for us this year. We are so grateful to our sponsors who stayed with us as we made this change and this year’s event may turn out to be one of the most successful in the history of the tournament”.

Katahdin Trust Company has been the major sponsor of the Cary Classic over the past four years. Since the inception of the tournament it has raised more than $250,000 to improve health care services at Cary Medical Center. Over the past three years funds raised have supported the new ‘Women’s Imaging Center’ at Cary. Peter Doebener, President of the Jefferson Cary Foundation Board of Directors said that the support of the golfers and the quality of the Caribou Course made for a very special event.

“The Caribou Country Club Course is in the best condition in recent memory”, said Doebener who played the tournament and took home a prize for finishing first Gross in Men’s Division Four. “The crew really did an outstanding job getting the course ready, members of the country club tournament committee volunteered their time at the event, and our golfers, many who have played the Cary since the beginning really turned out. It makes all the work going into the event worth the effort.”

Another change in the tournament revolved around prizes and this year all prizes came in the form of gift cards with $300 going to the male and female overall winners. Some $6,000 was awarded in gift cards and trophies. Each golfer received a polo shirt sponsored by the hospital’s medical staff. Free Hors d’oeuvres were featured between rounds and the tournament committee served burgers and dogs out on the course. Plans are already underway to mark the 35th playing of the Cary Classic on July 7, 2018.